free hit counter Jannik Sinner in sportsmanship fail as French Open final gesture to Carlos Alcaraz backfires – Wanto Ever

Jannik Sinner in sportsmanship fail as French Open final gesture to Carlos Alcaraz backfires


JANNIK SINNER paid for WRONGLY awarding Carlos Alcaraz a point in their sensational French Open final.

Poland’s World No.1 sportingly but incorrectly told the umpire an Alcaraz forehand was in – only for replays to show it went LONG.

Tennis umpire signaling on a clay court.
The umpire responded gratefully to Jannick Sinner’s intervention

The Spaniard had earlier saved THREE Championship points in that fourth set.

And Alcaraz went on to complete a comeback of incredible quality, winning 4-6 6-7 6-4 7-6 7-6 in five hours and 29 minutes.

Unlike the three other Grand Slam tournaments, Roland Garros does NOT use HawkEye technology to check line calls.

And midway through the final set Sinner looked frustrated when an Alcaraz shot was called in – with replays suggesting it 31mm out.

And although fans praised Sinner for his sportsmanship in the fourth, many viewers blasted the French Open for being stuck in their ways.

The tight line call came when Alacaraz served to go 6-5 up in the fourth.

Line judges called it out and the chair umpire got down from her seat to examine the mark.

But as she strode quickly across the court, Sinner signalled  he thought the ball was good.

She immediately acknowledged that with a raised hand and returned to her seat.

Tennis player on court during a match.
Sinner signalled to show he thought Alcaraz’s shot had been in

BEST ONLINE CASINOS – TOP SITES IN THE UK

However, freeze-frame replays  of the incident suggest the ball had clearly landed beyond the baseline.

And that led to observers hailing both players for the spirit in which they played such a gripping contest, but also questioning the tournament for snubbing HawkEye.


One fan said: “They are both acting like saints here.”

Another described them as “class acts all around”.

A third posted: “So nice to see some civility in the world!”

And a fourth wrote: “That is why they are 2 favourites.”

But another moaned: “So many missed called because they refuse to use technology. Joke of a tourny .”

And another viewer said: “Honestly thought it looked clearly out at full speed. A number of very questionable calls at the end of that set…”

Around 90 minutes after the line shout, Alcaraz clinched his victory from two sets down with a dominant 10-2 Championship tie-break in the fifth.

About admin